I don't have anything new to write today, so I'll share this story that happened to me when I was little since it (probably) ties in with me being neurodivergent.

As a kid, I loved sweets. When I was a toddler, I saw a commercial for a candy called Push Pop. There was a kangaroo who popped out of a jack in the box and said the candy “pops up”. Because I was delayed in my speech at the time, I couldn’t understand what was being said, but I knew it was advertising candy.

One day, mom brought me to a family picnic. There was a kid there with a Push Pop, and I wanted one too. I overheard that we were having pasta for dinner, and I had never heard that word before even though I ate spaghetti when it was offered. Immediately, I mistook that word for “pops up” and associated it with that candy. I asked for “pasta”, but I wanted a Push Pop. I got very upset and kept shouting “pasta” since my mom and aunt thought I wanted dinner.

Years later after I learned to speak full sentences, I went to the convenience store with mom to get cigarettes and candy. Now I was 7, and I could actually communicate. I saw a Push Pop near the register, and felt full relief knowing that I could actually get one for my special treat. After getting a cherry flavored one, I only ate part of it because it wasn’t as special as I thought it was.

Would I buy one again? Probably not since it’s literally a retractable lollipop, and I’d rather have a Dum Dum.

Currently: Journaling about shows that I'm watching